Kristine Hankins named Gatton's 2022-2023 University Research Professor

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 29, 2022) — Today, the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees approved 14 University Research Professorships for the 2022-23 academic year. Established by the Board of Trustees in 1976, the professorships program recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research, scholarship and creative endeavors at UK.

“It is truly gratifying to recognize these distinguished experts who have made significant contributions across the breadth of research fields at the University of Kentucky,” said Lisa Cassis, UK’s vice president for research. “The 2022-2023 University Research Professorship Awards honor 14 faculty members who have demonstrated excellence that addresses scientific, social, cultural and economic challenges in our region and around the world.”

College leadership developed criteria for excellence within their area of expertise, and then nominated faculty who excelled at these criteria. Each University Research Professor receives a one-year award of $10,000 to be used to further their research, scholarship and creative endeavors.












The 2022-23 University Research Professors are:

Merlin Lindemann: Animal and Food Sciences; College of Agriculture, Food and Environment

Theodore Schatzki: Geography; College of Arts and Sciences

Carrie Oser: Sociology; College of Arts and Sciences

Bobi Ivanov: Integrated Strategic Communication; College of Communication and Information

Lindsey Fay: Interiors; College of Design

Susan Chambers Cantrell: Curriculum and Instruction; College of Education

Alexandre Martin: Mechanical Engineering; College of Engineering

Yuha Jung: Arts Administration; College of Fine Arts

Kristine W. Hankins: Finance and Quantitative Methods; Gatton College of Business and Economics

Judith L. Page: Communication Sciences and Disorders; College of Health Sciences

Nancy Schoenberg: Behavioral Science; College of Medicine

Peter Nelson: Sanders-Brown Center on Aging; College of Medicine          

Daniela C. Moga: Pharmacy Practice and Science; College of Pharmacy

David W. Fardo: Biostatistics; College of Public Health

This summer, the university will feature a 2022-23 University Research Professor each week on UKNow. Learn more about each professor’s area of research and how they are addressing scientific, social, health and economic challenges in Kentucky and beyond.

See UKNOW story